Which type of government has separation of powers?


Which type of government has separation of powers?

Separation of Powers:

The separation of powers is an important concept in many governments around the world. One of the reasons for separating the different branches of government is to ensure that no one branch becomes too powerful.

Answer and Explanation:

There are several types of government that have a separation of powers. However, the most common and important is the presidential system of government. This is the type that exists in the United States. Another country that uses a similar system is France. In a presidential system, the president is not a member of the legislative branch. The executive branch and legislative branch have separate duties and responsibilities.

Learn more about this topic:

Separation of Powers: Definition & Examples


Chapter 3 / Lesson 12

Learn the definition of separation of powers and see separation of powers examples. Learn who came up with separation of powers, its history and significance.

Related to this Question

Explore our homework questions and answers library