What are adenine, guanine, cytosine and thymine?


What are adenine, guanine, cytosine and thymine?


Deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA) is one of two types of nucleic acids and one of the four major biological macromolecules essential for life. Since it's a nucleic acid, it stores genetic information and is considered the blueprint for all living organisms.

Answer and Explanation: 1

Become a member to unlock this answer!

View this answer

The structure of DNA is made of long chains of nucleotides. Nucleotides consists of three parts: a phosphate group, a five carbon sugar...

See full answer below.

Learn more about this topic:

DNA: Adenine, Guanine, Cytosine, Thymine & Complementary Base Pairing


Chapter 4 / Lesson 2

Learn about the DNA bases adenine, thymine, guanine, and cytosine. Discover which bases pair with each other, known as DNA complementary bases and what they do.

Related to this Question

Explore our homework questions and answers library