Making "how much" decisions involves: a. Calculating the total benefits of the activity and...
Making "how much" decisions involves:
a. Calculating the total benefits of the activity and determining if you are satisfied with that amount,
b. Calculating the total costs of the activity and determining if you can afford to incur that expenditure,
c. Calculating the average benefit and the average cost of an activity to determine if it is worthwhile undertaking that activity,
d. Determining the additional benefits and the additional costs of that activity.
What Is An Incremental Analysis:
The Incremental Analysis framework is often used in Economics in order to make decisions in the short-run. The Incremental Analysis studies the additional impact on a company's profitability or cash flow if a certain course of action were followed.
Answer and Explanation:
Become a Study.com member to unlock this answer! Create your accountView this answer
See full answer below.
Become a member and unlock all Study Answers
Start today. Try it nowCreate an account
Ask a question
Our experts can answer your tough homework and study questions.Ask a question Ask a question
Learn more about this topic:
fromChapter 9 / Lesson 7
Learn about incremental analysis. Understand what incremental analysis is, learn the applications of incremental analysis, and see examples of incremental analysis.
Related to this Question
- If an activity generates external costs, the decision makers generating the activity will: a) be faced with its full cost. b) be faced with no costs. c) not be faced with its full costs. d) be faced with excessive costs.
- A rational person: a. makes choices based on total benefits and total costs. b. makes choices based on added benefits and added costs. c. undertakes activities until the net benefits become less than zero. d. considers the financial benefits and financial
- A decision maker is choosing the levels of two activities, A and B, so as to maximize total benefits under a given budget. Answer the questions based on the assumptions below.
- A decision maker is choosing the levels of two activities, A and B, so as to maximize total benefits under a given budget. The prices and marginal benefits of the last units of A and B are denoted P_A, P_B, MB_A, and MB_B. a. If P_A = $20, P_B = $15, MB_
- The opportunity cost of an activity is: a) The sum of benefits from all of the sacrificed alternatives, b) The amount of money spent on the activity, c) The value of the best alternative not chosen, d) Zero if you choose the activity voluntarily, e) The d
- The opportunity cost of an action A. can be determined by considering both the benefits that flow from as well as the monetary costs incurred as a result of the action. B. can be determined by adding up the bills incurred as a result of the action. C. can
- Decisions made "at the margin" entail a choice based upon _ of a decision. a. the additional benefits b. the total costs c. comparing the total benefits and costs d. comparing the additional benefits and costs
- To make the best predictions about the decisions made by a firm, we should take account of a firm's A. implicit costs. B. accounting costs. C. explicit costs. D. opportunity costs.
- Decisions concerning the acquisition and utilization of resources are: a. Activity-based costing decisions. b. Performance decisions. c. Operating decisions. d. Financing decisions.
- To analyze outsourcing by firms, economists line up activities that a firm must undertake to produce a product in the rank order of the ratio of: A) low-cost to high-cost activities. B) high-skill l
- A sunk cost is irrelevant to a firm's current decision because: a. the decision to make the expenditure was made by previous manager b. it is a fixed factor of production c. it cannot be changed by ay current decision d. it occurred in the long run
- Managers, in the decision making processes, will always take into account: a. relevant costs b. average fixed costs c. historical costs d. sunk costs
- Imagine you are a manager for a small business or firm (you decide the type of business). You have an extra $5,000 in the budget to spend. How do you decide how to spend this money? How do you use the concept of opportunity cost to make this decision? Not
- A manager wishes to find the optimal level of two activities X and Y, which yield the total benefits presented in the table below. The price of X is $40 per unit, and the price of Y is $100 |Level o
- Cost/benefit analysis is an element of making a business case. Describe a solution option of your choice for solving a specific business issue. You are making a business case to senior management for
- Lenders use operating income specifically A. as a measure of how well management achieved sales. B. as an indication of future sales. C. as a measure of how much debt a business can support. D. as an indication of a business's ability to control costs.
- If a firm's current revenues are less than its current variable costs, when should it shut down? If the firm decides to shut down, should we expect that decision to be final? Explain using an example.
- Give an example of an everyday decision where the concept of opportunity cost plays (or should play) an important role in your decision making. What are the opportunity costs and benefits of your decision?
- What business has recently changed or expanded their operations or existing business strategy? 1) Why do you think that they made the decision that they did? 2) Who, within the organization, do you think had input in making the decision? 3) What, if any,
- Economic decision-making recognizes that: A. benefits are largely free while costs are not. B. prices do not reflect all information known to managers. C. costs are controllable but benefits are not measurable. D. all choices have benefits and costs.
- A company's total sales in a year were $2,710,000. The cost price of goods sold was $2,040,000. Given below are the overheads paid during the year. Calculate the net profit. | Wages | $198,500 | Electricity and gas | 15,300 | Telephone | 1,790 | Rent of
- According to behavioral economists, the human brain: A. makes most decisions based on careful calculation of benefits and costs. B. uses evolutionary-developed heuristics to make many decisions. C. only develops heuristics for decision making after the sa
- A company's total sales in a year were $2,710,000. The cost price of goods sold was $2,040,000. Given below are the overheads paid during the year. Calculate the total overheads as a percentage of the total sales. | Wages | $198,500 | Electricity and ga
- Strategy implementation is the process of: a. deciding which strategies to follow in order to diversify. b. performing all the activities necessary to do what has been planned. c. deciding the businesses in which an organization would compete. d. addressi
- Whirly Corporation's most recent income statement is shown below: Total Per Unit Sales (10,000 units) $ 350,000 Variable expenses 200,000 Contribution margin 150,000 Fixed expenses 135,000 Net op
- Determine the taxable income for a firm as described here: The firm recorded revenues of $46,000 and recaptured depreciation of $2,000 for the year just ended. During the year, the firm incurred cash expenses of $27,500 and depreciation expenses of $15,5
- Suppose a sole proprietorship is earning total revenues of $100,000 and is incurring explicit costs of $75,000. If the owner could work for another company for $30,000 a year, we would conclude that: (a) the firm is incurring an economic loss. (b) the ind
- The total sales for Sure Analytics Company is $1,250,000 and cost of goods sold is $300,000. The gross profit will be (a) $1,550,000 (b) $950,000 (c) $416,000 (d) None of the above
- 1. The owner of a small retail store does her own accounting work. How would you measure the opportunity cost of her work? The opportunity cost of the owner's accounting work is A. the explicit cost
- The costs of a market activity paid for by an individual engaged in the market activity are ________ costs. a.external b.social c.common d.internal e.free-rider
- A management consultant advised a small business owner to fully analyze all transaction costs, delineate the boundaries of the business, and develop an equation to calculate exactly economies of scope. The owner replied that there were not enough hours in
- Having completed a course as part of your MBA program, you have been hired by a medium-sized company. You attend a meeting where the CEO explains that the company's goal is to maximize profits, not total revenue. The firm must estimate both costs and reve
- Economic decision making recognizes that: a) all choices have benefits and costs b) benefits are largely free while costs are not c) costs are controllable but benefits are not measurable d) prices do not reflect all information known to managers e) resou
- A firm has $200 million in total revenue and explicit costs of $190 million. Suppose its owners have invested $100 million in the company at an opportunity cost of 10 percent interest per year. What is the firm's economic profit? a. $400 million b. $100
- In the decision process, management should ignore: a. Implicit costs. b. Historical costs. c. Sunk costs. d. Incremental costs.
- In order for an economic analysis to be useful, especially when making business decisions: a. the data used must be precise, and decisions are impossible without complete data. b. the question asked must be specific enough to be relevant but not excessive
- A management consultant advised a small business owner to fully analyze all transaction costs, delineate the boundaries of the business, and develop an equation to calculate exact economies of scope. The owner replied that there were not enough hours in t
- Rational decisions for using our time will NOT be based directly upon... a. the total satisfaction that we get from various activities b. the additional satisfaction that we get from one more unit (
- How can one calculate the gross profit margin using the profit and loss statement of an Indian company? please give an example of a real company using it's profit & loss statement.
- Find a business organization with data related to an economic issue or situation. Analyze the data you have selected to determine how to use them to make appropriate economic decisions for an organiza
- An opportunity cost a. is impossible to measure. b. exists for every decision made by individuals and businesses, but not by the government. c. can be measured only when the decision involves expenditures of money. d. can be measured only when the dec
- a) Calculate the accounting profit for the period. b) Calculate the economic profit for the period. c) Should the owner stay in business? Explain your answer.
- Outline the broad choices available to firms when deciding how to allocate profits.
- When a business must make decisions about a product range, comes often to questions about which products are profitable and which are possibly not profitable. When a man wants to calculate a product's profitability as benefits, so benefit company's direct
- What is thinking on the margin? a. Making decisions that are of noneconomic importance b. Making choices that are based on historical precedents c. Making choices by comparing benefits and costs, fro
- If a company has a 20% operating margin, how do they buy more products to sell, assuming that the remaining 20% is less than the cost of revenue?
- A firm is evaluating whether to lease or purchase four trucks. The four trucks can be purchased for a total cost of $240,000 and operated for maintenance, insurance and general operating costs of $20,
- Evaluate a pricing decision any company made that involved a product or service with fixed capacity. Do you think price was set optimally? If not, why not? How would you adjust the price, or would you
- Determine the term described. This refers to the total amount received from the customers from the sale of goods or services.
- Use Excel to determine the taxable income : The firm recorded revenues of $43,000 and recaptured depreciation of $2,000 for the year just ended During the year, the firm incurred cash expenses of $27,500 and depreciation expenses of $15,575. - 17500 -
- Identify all the true statements about firms. Select one or more: a. Firms and organizations are created by combining many job functions and activities, profiting from the gains due to specialization and profiting by avoiding market transaction costs. Whi
- When an action is chosen, the highest-valued alternative not chosen is called the: A. accounting cost. B. opportunity cost. C. implicit cost. D. explicit cost.
- Mason Construction Inc. had net sales of $480,000, costs of sales of $130,000, additional expenses of $200,000, depreciation of $40,000, and a tax rate of 30%. Determine the firm's after-tax earnings on a cash basis. a. $77,000 b. $105,000 c. $117,000 d.
- When calculating profit/fee, how is the performance risk (composite) calculated? (a) By adding the assigned weights and assigned values of the technical and management/cost control elements (b) By multiplying the assigned values of the technical and manag
- refers to the sequence of activities that include the various steps of the supply chain as well as additional activities, such as marketing, sales, and service. a. Value chain b. Differentiation c. Cost leadership d. Scope e. Homesourcing
- Which of the following statements about explicit costs is true? a. They are the only costs that matter to business owners. b. They usually exceed implicit costs. c. They are difficult to measure. d. They appear on the firm's balance sheet.
- As a Manager, your goal is to maximize the profit of your business. Assume you are in charge of managing your company's costs - you are the Controller of Accounts and all purchases must be approved by
- When evaluating a current company, what environmental factors and risks must be considered in the company's decision-making process? Evaluate cost factors influencing the company's decision. Determine strategies that would provide value to the outcome y
- The cost of capital is: a. called accounting profit. b. the cost of debt, or interest, plus the cost of equity, or the alternative return owners could have gotten had they not chosen to invest in this activity. c. usually considered to be just the inte
- You have gathered this information on a firm: $500,000 sales, $10,000 cash dividends, $300,000 cost of goods sold, $20,000 administrative expense, $20,000 depreciation expense, $40,000 interest expense, $10,000 purchase of productive equipment, no changes
- Sunk costs do A. equal to zero all the time. B. affect business shutdown decisions. C. affect business start-up decisions. D. not matter.
- Cost Identification Analysis is a process that: A. Determines prices B. Determines profit C. Identifies direct and indirect costs D. Identifies direct costs only
- Outsourcing is a business decision that makes the cost greater to allow businesses to focus oOutsourcing is a business decision that makes the cost greater to allow businesses to fOutsourcing is a bus
- Assuming you are the chief executive officer (CEO) of Exxon Mobil, describe a situation in which you would use marginal analysis to make a business decision. In creating your response, consider the following questions: What type of business decision would
- What does it mean to say that a firm should devote resources to an activity as long as society values that activity more than it values the resources allocated to that activity?
- Transaction costs are inherent in the trade-off between risks and uncertainties. Propose how one can determine the efficient levels of information in an organization to justify taking a risk over uncertainty.
- All the costs of a transaction are referred to as: A. transfer costs B. transactions costs C. marketing expenditures D. accounting costs
- Which of the following best defines what the long run for a business is? a) more than one year. b) the time to make necessary business decisions. c) the period of time during which at least one input is fixed. d) the period of time during which all inputs
- You have just purchased software to support estimating operations in your company. The purchase price is $100,000. You estimate that this software will help generate an additional net income (revenues
- Provide an example of a game theoretic "dilemma" that an organization faces, and determine what actions management might take to avoid reaching a sub optimal outcome. Select a well-known organization, upon which you could reflect for your response.
- Because the primary goal of a "for profit" business is to make as much profit as possible or to maximize that profit, it should follow that the activities of the business would focus on efficiency and
- Your business has these annual costs: rent = $50,000; raw materials = $50,000; manager's contract salary = $50,000; sales commissions = $160,000; property taxes = $15,000. Your total revenue is $340,000. A. In the short run, what will this business do? Sh
- The costs of a market activity paid for by an individual engaged in the market activity are: a. external costs. b. social costs. c. common costs. d. free-rider costs. e. internal costs.
- Complete the following table by determining Yakov's accounting and economic profit of his guitar business.
- Consider that a business incurred implicit costs of $200,000 and explicit costs of $1 million in a specific year. If the firm sold 4,000 units of its output at $300 per unit, what will be the accounting profits?
- An optimal decision is one that chooses a.the lowest cost method of meeting goals, without regard to quality or any other feature. b.among various possible goals and offends no one, so that all are equally happy. c.among possible goals in such a way th
- Assume you believe that income is a good proxy for ability to pay. What decisions do you have to make in order to make this operational?
- Highgate Computer Company produces $2.3 million in profits from $24 million in sales. It has total assets of $12.4 million. a. Calculate Highgate's total asset turnover and its net profit margin. b. Find the company's ROA, ROE, and book value per share, g
- Suppose your business decides to increase parking fees in order to deal with the shortage of parking spaces. However, the manager of your business convinces the board to pay back the amount spent on higher parking fees to its users in the form of a rebate
- You are interested in starting your own business, but need to know your costs. Here is your information: 1. What is your total revenue at 5 quantities? A. 39 B. 76 C. 111 D. 144 2. What is your t
- The accountants hired by Ohman Shoe Company have calculated fixed costs to equal $30,000, variable costs to equal $100,000, and total revenue to equal $110,000. Because of this information, Ohman Shoe Company decides: A. to exit the industry B. to shut do
- Fixed costs do not respond to: A. discretionary investments in the company. B. short-term changes in the amount of activity. C. changes in committed expenditures. D. capital expenditures made by the company.
- Lisa quit her $11,000-per-year job to start her own economics consulting firm. At the end of her first year of operation, her total revenues were $128,000. Her total explicit costs were $53,000. What was her economic profit for the year? (Give response as
- Most people in business on most days deal with company tactics and decision at a level that is not strategic. However, every decision made by every employee in a company utilizes impacts excess strate
- Give a numerical example to show that a simple-majority decision rule can lead to a project being undertaken for which the costs are greater than the benefits.