Fredonia Inc. had a bad year in 2013. For the first time in its history, it operated at a loss. The company's income statement showed the following results from selling 75,400 units of product: Net sales $1,485,380; total costs and expenses $1,736,000; and net loss $250,620. Costs and expenses consisted of the following.
|Cost of goods sold||$1,201,500||$779,500||$422,000|
Management is considering the following independent alternatives for 2014.
1. Increase unit selling price 28% with no change in costs and expenses.
2. Change the compensation of salespersons from fixed annual salaries totaling $202,700 to total salaries of $42,700 plus a 5% commission on net sales.
3. Purchase new high-tech factory machinery that will change the proportion between variable and fixed cost of goods sold to 50:50.
a) Compute the break-even point in dollars for 2014.
b) Compute the break-even point in dollars under each of the alternative courses of action.
The Break-even point is the level of sales that is equal to the total expenses. Items that affect the amount of the break-even point are the selling price, variable cost, and the fixed costs.
Answer and Explanation: 1
- Units Sold = 75,400 units
- Unit selling price = $1,485,380 / 75,400 units = $19.70
- Variable Cost = $904,300 / 75,400 units = $12
- Fixed Cost =...
See full answer below.
Become a member and unlock all Study Answers
Start today. Try it nowCreate an account
Ask a question
Our experts can answer your tough homework and study questions.Ask a question Ask a question
Learn more about this topic:
fromChapter 5 / Lesson 28
See how to calculate break-even point (in units and dollars). See the variables of the break-even point formula and examples. Understand the purpose of break-even analysis.