Consider a project that costs $10,000 today. It will provide benefits of $4,000 at the end of...
Consider a project that costs $10,000 today. It will provide benefits of $4,000 at the end of Year 1, $3,500 at the end of Year 2, and $3,500 at the end of Year 3.
a) If the discount rate is 6%, will this project be approved using cost-benefit analysis?
b) Would your answer change if the discount rate is:
The cost-benefit analysis in capital budgeting is applied to appraise the profitability of a project. We compute the ratio of the present value of the future benefits to the present value of the costs. The costs represent the cash outflow while the benefits are the cash inflows the investor gains. A project having a cost-benefit ratio >1 is considered profitable and should be approved.
Answer and Explanation: 1
Become a Study.com member to unlock this answer! Create your accountView this answer
Cost = $10,000
Calculate the present value of the benefits
See full answer below.
Become a member and unlock all Study Answers
Start today. Try it nowCreate an account
Ask a question
Our experts can answer your tough homework and study questions.Ask a question Ask a question
Learn more about this topic:
fromChapter 14 / Lesson 5
The profitability index method measures the acceptability of a project through the ratio of the projected cash inflow to the initial investment. Learn about the definition and calculation of profitability index and understand how to interpret its results.
Related to this Question
- Consider a project that costs $10,000 today. It will provide benefits of $4,000 at the end of Year 1, $3,500 at the end of Year 2, and $3,500 at the end of Year 3. If the discount rate is 6%, will this project be approved using cost-benefit analysis? Woul
- You estimate that a project will cost $27,700 and will provide cash inflows of $11,800 in year 1 and $24,600 in year 3. Based on the profitability index rule, should the project be accepted if the discount rate is 14 percent? Why or why not?
- Project A costs $10,000 and has annual cash flows of $2,900 for six years. The discount rate is 5%. Calculate the profitability index of the project. Should the firm accept the project?
- A transit project is being evaluated. This project is expected to cost $10M to construct and have a life of 30 years. The benefits associated with the project is $1.2M per year; however the disbenefit
- A cost-benefit analysis of a new irrigation project indicates that the net benefits (B-C) of the project in each of the first four years will be $2 million. Thereafter, the project will yield positive net benefits of $750,000 for the next 20 years. Calcul
- What is the present worth of all disbursements and receipts during the lifetime of the project, evaluated at the beginning of the first year, if the project has the following costs: Phase 1 labor $26
- Project A has a first cost of $950,000 and will produce a $50,000 net annual benefit over its 50-year life. Project B costs $1,250,000 and produces an $85,000 net annual benefit. If interest is 3% pe
- Project A has a first cost $950,000 and will produce a $50,000 net annual benefit over its 50-year life. Project B costs $1, 250,000 and produces an $85,000 net annual benefit. (a) If interest is 3%
- Jella Cosmetics is considering a project that costs $750,000 and is expected to last for 9 years and produce future cash flows of $180,000 per year. If the appropriate discount rate for this project is 17 percent, what is the project's IRR?
- On day 51 a project has an earned value of $600, an actual cost of $650, and a planned cost of $560. Compute the SV, CV, and CPI for the project. What is your assessment of the project on day 51?
- A project costs $3,000 immediately. The project yields nominal returns of $100 in year 1, $200 in year 2, $300 in year 3, $400 in year 4, and $500 in year 5. In addition, the project will have capital
- Two projects, Project A and Project B, are available, each costing $500,000. The discount rate is 10%. Considering the cash flows given below, which project would be more profitable using the net present value (NPV) method? | Year | Project A | Project B
- Consider a project to supply 106 million postage stamps per year to the U.S. Postal Service for the next five years. 1. You have an idle parcel of land available that cost $1,960,000 five years ago; i
- Consider a project to supply 112 million postage stamps per year to the U.S. Postal Service for the next five years. You have an idle parcel of land available that cost $2,020,000 five years ago; if t
- A project has a life of 10 years and no salvage value. Your firm uses a MARR of 8% to evaluate projects. The project has uncertain costs and revenue as shown in the table below: Initial Cost Probabil
- A public works project has an initial cost of $1,000,000, benefits with a present worth of $1,500,000, and disbenefits with a present worth of $300,000. (A) What is the benefit-cost ratio? (B) What is the excess of benefits over costs?
- In a project, a cost incentive contract has been awarded to a contractor with the following parameters: Target Cost 1,000,000 Target Profit for Seller 100,000 Target Price 1,100,000 Ceiling Price 1,300,000 Share Ratio 80% buyer-20% Evaluate the point of t
- Consider a project to supply 120 million stamps per year to the U.S. Postal Service for the next five years. You have an idle parcel of land available that cost $2,100,000 five years ago; if the land
- A company is considering a new project that will cost $19,000. This project would result in additional annual revenues of $6,000 for the next 5 years. The $19,000 cost is an example of a(n): A. Sunk cost B. Fixed cost C. Incremental cost D. Uncontrollable
- Suppose you are considering two projects, A and B, that each has a required rate of return of 10%. Both projects cost $5,000 and have a net present value of $150. Project A has an IRR of 16% and project B has an IRR of 15%. What is the crossover rate for
- A project will cost $45,000 to develop. When the system becomes operational, after a one-year development period, operational costs will be $9,000 during each year of the system's five-year useful life. The system will produce benefits of $30,000 in the f
- A proposed project has fixed costs of $96,000 per year. The operating cash flow at 6,600 units is $96,200. Ignoring the effect of taxes, what is the degree of operating leverage?
- Two projects, Project A and Project B, are available, each costing $500,000. The discount rate is 10%. Considering the cash flows given below, which project would be more profitable using the profitability index? | Year | Project A | Project B | 1 | 150,
- Three mutually exclusive projects are being considered: A B C First cost $1,000 $2,000 $3,000 Uniform annual benefit 250 350 525 Salvage value 200 300 400 Useful life, in years 5 6 7 When each projec
- Compute the IRR static for Project I. The appropriate cost of capital is 8 percent. Project l |Year |0 |1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |Cash flow |2,100 |920 |810 |850 | 520 Should the project be accepted or rejected?
- Symbiotic Accounting Products is considering launching a project with an initial cost of $7,800. What is the payback period for this project if the cash inflows are $1,100, $1,640, $3,800, and $4,500 a year over the next four years respectively? a. 3.21
- A proposed project will cost $600,000 and will provide operating cash flows of $150,000 in Year 1, $300,000 in Year 2, $500,000 in Year 3. The company's hurdle rate is 15%. How much is the net present value of the project? A. $23,013 B. $66,373 C. $86,
- Consider a project with cash flows: Year 0 1 2 3 4 5 P -$19 $10 $5 $3 $5 $10 Compute the profitability index based on a 10% cost of capital and compute the payback time.
- Assume that overhead is charged on a flat-rate basis. Each member of the project is assigned an overhead charge of $150/week. What would the fully loaded cost of labor be for an employee, given that
- JWD Consulting net present value example Perform a financial analysis for a project using the format provided in Figure 4-5. Assume that the projected costs and benefits for this project are spread o
- The following estimates have been prepared for a project under consideration: Fixed costs: $15,000 Depreciation: $9,000 Price: $4
- The most likely outcomes for a particular project are estimated as follows: Unit price: $60 Variable cost: $40 Fixed cost: $390,000 Expected sales: 38,000 units per year However, you recognize that s
- Assume that overhead is charged on a flat rate basis. Each member of the project is assigned an overhead charge of $300/week. What would be the direct cost of labor for an employee, given that she is
- A project is estimated to cost $266,007 and provide annual net cash flows of $53,000 for 10 years. Determine the internal rate of return for this project.
- A project is estimated to cost $77,766 and provide annual net cash flows of $26,000 for five years. Determine the internal rate of return for this project.
- A project is estimated to cost $362,672 and provide annual net cash flows of $76,000 for nine years. Determine the internal rate of return for this project.
- A five-year project has a projected net cash flow of $15,000, $25,000, $30,000, $35,000, and $20,000 in the next five years. It will cost $80,000 to implement the project. If the required rate of return is 20%, determine the NPV and indicate if you would
- A proposed project has fixed costs of $73,000 per year. The operating cash flow at 8,000 units is $87,500. Ignoring the effect of taxes, what is the degree of operating leverage? If units sold rise from 8,000 to 8,500 what will be the increase in operatin
- Project K costs $44,887.46, its expected cash inflows are $10,000 per year for 9 years, and its WACC is 10%. What is the project's IRR?
- Coffer Co. is analyzing two projects for the future. Assume that only one project can be selected. Project X Project Y Cost of machine $77,000 $55,000 Net cash flow: Year 1 28,000 2,000 Year 2 28,000 25,000 Year 3 28,000 25,000 Year 4 0 20,000 If the comp
- Rosman Company has an opportunity to pursue a capital budgeting project with a five-year time horizon. After careful study, Rosman estimated the following costs and revenues for the project: Cost of
- Compensation expense resulting from a compensatory stock option plan is generally (a) recognized in the period of exercise. (b) recognized in the period of the grant. (c) allocated to the periods benefited by the employee's required service. (d) allocate
- Evaluate the costs and benefits of having a two-year "cooling-off" period for engagement partners.
- In year 1, a contractor agrees to build a building, for $2,500,000, by the end of year 2. The builder's cost is estimated to be $1,800,000. The actual costs, year 1, are $900,000, and year 2's actual
- Net Present Value (NPV) analysis of a project reveals + $3,600 based on a discount rate of 12%. A) What does this tell us about the financial viability of the project? B) What does it not tell us? C) Why is the NPV method considered to be theoretically su
- Assume the following data is presented for Oehler company for the year 2014 Pension plan is fully founded as of 1/1/14 Settlement rate is 8%; expected earnings rate is 7%. Annual service costs for
- In 2011, Cupid Construction Co. (CCC) began work on a two-year fixed price contract project. CCC uses the percentage-of-completion method to account for such projects and provides you with the followi
- Project L costs $44, 964.46, its expected cash flows are $10,000 per year for 9 years, and its WACC is 10%. What is the project's IRR?
- Project Y has an initial cost of $10,000, and the discount rate for each project is 12%. Expected cash flow is given below for the project: Year Project Y 1 6,500 3 5,000 4 3,000 Calculate NPV for this project.
- A proposed project will require the use of ten machines in a company. Each machine has five alternative uses. What is the simplest way to evaluate the desirability of the project? A) incremental analysis B) cost-volume-profit analysis C) opportunity co
- Calculate the net present value for the re-cover project. The production director has now informed the board that the supply of skilled labor for Year 1 will be restricted to a maximum of 2,500 hours. The company's cost of capital is 10% per annum.
- The following estimates have been prepared for a project under consideration: Fixed costs: $20,000 Depreciation: $10,000 Price: $2 Accounting break-even: 60,000 units Required: What must be the
- Assume a project costs Sh 30,000 and yields the following uncertain cashflows: Assume also that the certainty equivalent coefficients have been estimated as follows: α0 = 1.00 α1 = 0.90 α2 = 0.70 α3 = 0.5
- Duratech manufacturing is evaluating a process improvement project. The estimated receipt and disbursements associated with the project are shown below. MARR is 6%/year (a) What is the annual worth of
- a) Compute the MIRR statistic for Project I if the appropriate cost of capital is 11 percent. b) Should the project be accepted or rejected?
- Consider the following information about a potential project: Investment required $15,000,000 Expected annual project revenue $17,000,000 Expected annual project expenses $14,500,000 Required rate of
- If a project costing $70,000 has a profitability index of 1 and the discount rate was 12%, then the present value of the net cash flows was: A. greater than $70,000 B. undeterminable C. $70,000 D. less than $70,000
- 1. Compute the PI static for your firm's new project if the appropriate cost of capital is 9 percent. Time 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 Cash Flow -680 80 560 760 760 360 760 2. Should the project be accepted or rejected?
- A proposed nuclear power plant will cost $2.2 billion to build and then will produce cash flows of $300 million a year for 15 years. After that period (in Year 15), it must be decommissioned at a cost of $900 million. What is project NPV if the discount r
- Research and development costs are: a. treated as an expense when incurred. b. capitalized but not amortized. c. capitalized and amortized over the periods that will probably benefit from the research and development. d. included with the cost of the
- Compute the net present value for each project. Rank the projects based on the computed value. Which project do you recommend?
- Consider three mutually exclusive alternatives: A B C Initial Cost 770 1406 2563 Uniform annual benefit 420 420 420 Useful life 2 4 8 Rate of return 6.0% 7.5% 6.4% The analysis period is 8 years. At
- Can Delta Airlines benefit by analyzing future projects, in terms of relevant costs? Evaluate. How can relevant costs be used in decision making?
- Thornley Machines is considering a 3-year project with an initial cost of $930,000. The project will not directly produce any sales but will reduce operating costs by $450,000 a y
- Project L costs $45,168.92, its expected cash inflows are $9,000 per year for 10 years, and its WACC is 10%. What is the project's IRR? Round your answer to two decimal places.
- Consider the following statements about relevant costing and activity-based costing: I. The concept of relevant costs and benefits cannot be used in conjunction with an activity-based costing system. II. The concept of relevant costs and benefits must be
- A feasibility study for a new computer system should a) consider costs, savings, controls, profit improvement, and other benefits analyzed by application area. b) provide the preliminary plan for co
- Compute the MIRR statistic for Project I if the appropriate cost of capital is 12 per cent. Should the project be accepted or rejected?
- A planned factory expansion project has an estimated initial cost of $800,000. Based on a discount rate of 20 percent, the present value of the future cost savings from the expansion is $843,000. To
- Compute the IRR for Project F. The appropriate cost of capital is 12 percent. (Do not round intermediate calculations and round your final answer to 2 decimal places.) Should the project be accepted or rejected?
- A proposed project has estimated sale units of 2,500, give or take 2 percent. The expected variable cost per unit is $6.79 and the expected fixed costs are $17,500. Cost estimates are considered accurate within a plus or minus 3 percent range. The depreci
- You are considering the following two projects and can take only one. You cost of capital is 10.6%. The cash flows for the two projects are as follows ($ million): Project Year 0 Year 1 Year 2 Year 3
- Differentiate the historical cost concept from the fair value cost concept of measurement. What are their advantages and disadvantages?
- Which of the following is true regarding the evaluation of projects? a. Sunk costs should be included. b. Erosion effects should be considered. c. Financing costs need to be included. d. Opportunity costs are irrelevant.
- A engineering firm plans to buy new software to improve efficiency. The software has an initial cost of $16,000, and is expected to increase profit by $1,000 per year. Determine the payback period for
- A engineering firm plans to buy new software to improve efficiency. The software has an initial cost of $13,000, and is expected to increase profit by $3,000 per year. Determine the payback period for
- Project L costs $55,000, its expected cash inflows ere $11,000 per year for 8 years, end its WACC is 9%. What is the project's MIRR? (Do not round your intermediate calculations.)
- Compute the MIRR statistic for Project J if the appropriate cost of capital is 9 percent. Should the project be accepted or rejected? | Time| 0| 1| 2| 3 |4 |5 |Cash flow| -$2,900| $920| $2,430| -$71
- A contract which specifies that the suppler will be paid for the cost of production as well as some fixed amount or percentage of cost is called a(n): a) approved overrun. b) cost-plus contract. c) allocation plan. d) indirect cost budget.
- Compared to an identical project with a lower proportion of fixed costs, a project with a higher proportion of fixed costs will have: a. a higher degree of sensitivity of EBITDA to a change in revenue
- Which, if either, of these projects should be chosen if the appropriate discount rate is 15%? a. Project A b. Project B c. Both projects d. Neither projects
- 'To ensure unbiased cost allocations, fixed costs should be allocated on the basis of estimated long-run use by user-department managers.' Do you agree? Why?
- New equipment is being considered. The project engineer has estimated the possible states of nature and their probabilities. p 0.3 0.4 0.15 0.15 First cost 150,000 165,000 175,000 200,000 Annual Benefits 35,000 40,000 55,000 75,000 Annual costs 6,000 7,0
- A project with an initial cost of $28,300 is expected to generate cash flows of $6,900, $9,000, $9,250, $8,150, and $7,700 over each of the next five years, respectively. What is the project's payback period?
- What is cost-benefit analysis? What are the main steps in conducting cost-benefit analysis?
- A cost analysis is to be made to determine what, if anything, should be done in a situation offering three "do-something" and one "do-nothing" alternatives. Estimates of the cost and benefits are as f
- Consider the following information from a company's records for 2016: Materials used in research and development projects $4500 Equipment acquired that will have alternative future uses in future RD projects for live years 1,500 Personnel costs of employ
- A project is estimated to cost $90,045 and provide annual net cash flows of $14,500 for eight years. Determine the internal rate of return for this project.
- A project is estimated to cost $104,328 and provide annual net cash flows of $21,000 for eight years. Determine the internal rate of return for this project.
- A private university receives $1,000,000 in fiscal year 2017 as a grant restricted for a specific research project and incurs expenses of $400,000 related to the research project during fiscal year 20
- You are asked to evaluate the following two projects for Boring Corporation. Use a discount rate of 10 percent. Use Appendix B. Project X (DVDs of the Weather Reports) ($58,000 Investment) Project Y
- Indicate whether the following items are capitalized or expensed in the current year. (a) Purchase cost of a patent from a competitor. (b) Research costs. (c) Development costs (after achieving economic viability). (d) Organizational costs. (e) Costs incu
- What is the net present value of the project if the appropriate discount rate is 20%?
- What is the net present value of the project if the appropriate discount rate is 12%?
- An inspection service received their monthly operating costs for the past year. Costs ranged from $4,000. for 1,000 inspected units to $36,000. for 600 inspections. 1. Calculate the variable cost per
- A B C Investment 800000 100000 900000 Cost 90000 130000 100000 Revenue 300000 500000 350000 Life 4 7 5 A) Is this cost based or revenue based project. B) Layout cash flows, value for years depending
- Assume that you adopt a custom software package. Using present value tables, evaluate the cost vs. benefit of a system under the following scenario: The probable cost of the best package is estimated
- A project has estimated annual net cash flows of $60,000 and is estimated to cost $396,000. What is the payback period? (Round your answer to 2 decimal places.)
- A project has estimated annual net cash flows of $54,000 and is estimated to cost $334,800. What is the payback period? (Round the answer to 2 decimal places.)
- Singh Development Co. is deciding whether to proceed with Project X. The cost would be $10 million in Year 0. There is a 50% chance that X would be hugely successful and would generate annual after-ta